My Name is a Four Letter Word

Here’s the boring short story of how I got my name.

In a country like the Philippines, being named “Dale” sounds foreign in some sense. It’s out of the usual Filipino sounding names such as Rogelio, Bruno, Magnifico, Juan, Miguel, etc.

My name’s a combo.  As my parent’s first born, my name was a combination of my mother and father’s name.

DAnilo + LEbita = DALE

Brilliant! Isn’t it?

Simple addition it is.

__________

Not that we live in a valley (dale means valley, I googled it)….

Not because it’s my mother’s favorite actor or something…

Not because they just randomly looked it up on the Greatest Men of the Century List

__________

Oh well, I’m just thankful my parent’s name sounds good when combined. Imagine if my mother and father were Connie and Dominic?

 

P.S. If I had the choice to name myself, it might be the infamous Harry. 😀

But I definitely feel Dale fits me well. Dave with an L, they say.

________________

 

 

This post is in response to The Daily Post Challenge: Say Your Name

 

 

How about you? How did you get your name?

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “My Name is a Four Letter Word

  1. Pingback: Memoirs: What’s in a name? A Crepe! | Bastet and Sekhmet

  2. Natawa ako sa 2nd paragraph na traditional Filipino names. 😀

    Ang unique ng name ng nanay mo ah! Lebita! I like!

    Ang alam ko lang, pinangalanan ako ng anti ko. Ayun. hehe. Wala ding History or whatevs. So ako nalang gumagawa ng History nya: “Named after St. Cecilia” Nyaha.

  3. Pingback: Identity crisis?! | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Be real. Spill it. What do you think?

