That One Crazy Girl : So Near Yet So Far

To all the readers of this crazy girl series. Here comes Part 4! Behold!😀

To the new readers, here’s to save you from scrolling:

Part 1     Part 2     Part 3

__________________________________

And just like that, we became neighbors. I don’t know if that’s a good or bad thing. Somehow, I am uncomfortable but happy.

I found out her mother couldn’t afford to send her to high school anymore. So, the elementary school principal (which happens to be their distant relative) offered to send her to school until college. That, in exchange of her living with them ultimately becoming a working student. I am more amazed by that; she is really industrious and willing to pursue her studies.

Now she lives a stone-throw away. It’s a good 100 meters away from our house, but in the province, that distance is just near. That summer was a very hot one. Not because of her hotness, nor mine😉 , but because of the El Niño phenomenon going on.

All the water supply is depleted. I have to manually pump and fetch water. That’s very tiring. Each day, our household consumes almost five five-gallon containers. That’s the least we can do to save the time and ample amount of energy fetching water. The good thing is, the artesian well is right beside the principal’s house. So I get to see her. Everyday. 4 o’clock. Time for fetching. And stealing glances.😀

_____________________

When June came and our third year in high school started, I was surprised that we were not classmates anymore. The new high school principal ordered a reshuffle of all the students as to make each section a heterogeneous mixture of best and worst. Maybe to allow the bad ones to be infected by the goodness of the good. What if the infection might be the other way around? I don’t think he thought of that. My Crazy Girl might become Crazier.

So now, we live near each other. But, in a different section, different  classrooms. Lesser interaction in school. The only time I am happy somehow, is the walk going home. We have the same 15-minute tread to consume. I walk fast. I am always excited to go home. So as not to miss my favorite afternoon cartoons/anime. (Yes, I still watch cartoons that time!) She also keeps up with my pace. Only a few steps behind. I don’t really bother walking along her and her boyfriend.

My childhood neighbor, lets call her B (and her friend and still her classmate now) updates me about her. B is the only one who bothers to keep up with my pace. She calls me Kuya (Big Brother) though I am just months older than her. We were friends since grade school. She is now my spy agent.

______________________

There was this one morning that I would never forget. Perhaps it would be a candidate for my most embarrassing moment list. I call it the naked incident. 

It was around 6 am. We were preparing for school. I was running late. I was taking a bath outside the bathroom so as to save time (since my sister gets the honor of taking a bath inside, of course). I was only wearing briefs. Trust me, you don’t really want to see me in trunks. I look like a wimpy kid. (notice the verb in present tense “look”).

There was the innocent CG (crazy girl), coming in our house giving a note the principal has left for my mother (who is a teacher by the way).  I don’t know if she’s just comfortable coming in through the backdoor or did my mother instructed her to just come in. The thing is, the bath towel is way across the kitchen. I’m all wet, outside the bathroom, covered with nothing but briefs, wet briefs. Did I get a boner? NO. I was so embarrassed. She was grinning. I was blushing. Much to my relief, she just left the note at the table and went out immediately. I was in my best poker face I could produce.

I was shivering. From the cold. From the shame.

_______________________

One afternoon, as I was walking fast home, my neighbor told me a good  bad news. I don’t really know if it’s good or bad. But somehow, it brought light up my face.

 

“They broke up.”

 

7 thoughts on “That One Crazy Girl : So Near Yet So Far

  1. Pingback: Mommy, you are ‘raw’! « realdale

  2. Pingback: That One Crazy Girl: Letters « realdale

Be real. Spill it. What do you think?

