Love is NOT blind. Is it?

With the fast growing innovation of communication channels today, distance is chopped by technology. Communication is easy. Meeting new people has been an instant. Courtship has been modified – through emails, chatting, tweeting, calling, and even texting!

A friend of mine even got into one. She says she said yes to the guy even without meeting him personally. (What an id*ot!) She told us she feels she is loved and cared for. His text messages have been a constant reminder of his presence, of his ‘love’.

As a friend, a polite one perhaps, we tried to advice her about her affair. We told her to shrug it off. To know the guy more. To even let a video call! Because seriously, the guy don’t even have much to show except a profile picture album with only 5 pictures! Imagine that!

‘He is a poser!’ I often intervened. Telling her that maybe the other person is just a retard. Or even an old man! Or lesbian! Though I don’t have any issues with those people, my point was: why would you be in love to someone whom you don’t even know?

“Love is blind” is her strongest line of defense.  “Love sees and examine”, I always remind her. Love is never blind. It is seeing things clearly but accepting the way it is wholeheartedly. And so she did.

She accepted the fact that her boyfriend is a psycho. Some mentally twisted freak who just happened to play with her. And she still loved him!

This time, I really don’t know what to do with my friend. I want her to be happy, but I don’t want her to get hurt. I don’t want to be an intruder in her life, but I don’t want to let her be. So I waited. I let things fall into place.

One afternoon, we decided to try to call the guy using another friend’s phone number. After the third ring, a girl answered the phone. All of us exchanged glances. Voilah! A girl. The ‘guy’ texted her telling it was his sister. I couldn’t believe it. The guy haven’t even called my friend, not even once using some lame excuse of phobia on talking to a phone. What the? It’s not worth it.

By that incident I guess we have done a good job of opening our friend’s eyes. It dawned on her. Finally!

Looking back at it now, we just laugh it out. Those days of arguing and cold wars. Those debates and evidences presented. Those quarrels have strengthened our friendship all the more. And even sparked something else.🙂

Love is not blind. It sees but it doesn’t mind. “

2 thoughts on “Love is NOT blind. Is it?

Be real. Spill it. What do you think?

